12 Jun

Book Display Contest Winners – 2019

Western Writers of America is pleased to announce the winners of our annual book display contest.  The winner in the book store category is Get Lit Books in Sierra Vista, Arizona, and the winner in the museum category is the Desert Caballeros Museum in Wickenburg, Arizona.  Both the book store and the museum will receive a $500

Continue Reading

12 Apr

Spur Award Entry Deadlines Change for 2020 contest

Entry deadlines for WWA’s Spur Awards will be staggered, based upon publication dates, beginning with 2020 competition for material published or released for the first time in 2019. Material first published or released between January 1 and August 31, 2019 must be received, along with entry forms, by the category judges and Spur chair no

Continue Reading

05 Mar

WWA announces 2019 Spur Award winners

     TUCSON, Ariz. – Johnny D. Boggs won his eighth Spur Award – becoming the all-time leader in Western Writers of America’s 66-year history – and Francisco Cantú won two Spurs, the nonprofit association announced. John D. Nesbitt and Mike Blakely won their fourth and third Spurs. Winners and finalists will be honored June 19-22 in

Continue Reading

19 Feb

Will Bagley to Receive WWA Owen Wister Award

ENCAMPMENT, Wyo. – Will Bagley, a journalist known for monumental nonfiction books about the Mormon West and overland trails, will receive the 2019 Owen Wister Award for Lifetime Contributions to Western Literature from Western Writers of America (WesternWriters.org). Bagley will also be inducted into the Western Writers Hall of Fame, housed outside the McCracken Research

Continue Reading

04 Jan

Western Writers of America Bookseller Display Contest

In anticipation of Western Writers of America’s annual convention in June, Western Writers of America is challenging booksellers to create a window or shelf display that highlight western authors and western musicians and their work. The store and museum gift shop judged to have the best display will each win $500. WWA was incorporated in

Continue Reading

10 Mar

2018 Spur Award Winners

TUCSON, Ariz. – David Grann’s “Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI” has won the Spur Award for Best Historical Nonfiction Book, and Jeff Guinn’s “Silver City” has won for Best Traditional Western Novel. Western Writers of America made the announcement Friday on the eve of the Tucson

Continue Reading

18 Dec

“Tweet Us a Western” Award Winners

ENCAMPMENT, Wyoming – Western Writers of America, a writers’ organization that since the 1950s has promoted literature of the American West, has announced the winners of its first “Tweet Us a Western” Twitter contest. Participants were asked to write a Western (traditional, modern, poem, etc.) in 280 characters or less – the equivalent of one

Continue Reading

15 Aug

Tony Hillerman Prize Contest opens

Welcome to the Tony Hillerman Prize for Best First Mystery Set in the Southwest Competition! WWA is pleased to again announce its sponsorship of the Tony Hillerman Prize for Best First Mystery set in the Southwest. Please read all of the rules and guidelines before submitting your entry. You can find the complete rules and

Continue Reading

09 Aug

Stonecrest Books Wins WWA Book Display Contest

Stonecrest Books in Osage Beach, Missouri, at the Lake of the Ozarks, was the winner of the 2017 Western Writers of America Book Display Contest.  More than 200 book stores across the country entered the contest. Participants were asked to create an in-store display highlighting western authors and western musicians and their work. The book stores were

Continue Reading