About WWA

About Western Writers Of America

Western Writers of America Inc. (WWA) was founded in 1953 to promote the literature of the American West and to recognize the best in Western writing with the prestigious Spur Award and the Western Writers Hall of Fame. Like the Western landscape itself, WWA and the books, songs, and stories produced by its members have evolved immensely.

WWA boasts historians, nonfiction authors, young adult, romance writers, songwriters, poets, and screenwriters for film and television. We all have one thing in common—our work in every medium is set in the ever-changing American West.

Today we have more than 700 members nationwide and around the world. Our members include C.J. Box, Anne Hillerman, Craig Johnson, Tom Clavin, Nancy Plain, Mark Hall-Patton, Thomas Cobb, Candy Moulton, Kat Martin, Kirk Ellis, Lucia St. Clair Robson, David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Loren D. Estleman, Johnny D. Boggs, Paul Andrew Hutton, and Kathleen O’Neal Gear.

We are proud of our longstanding tradition of helping to support and promote each other’s work, no matter where we find ourselves in our professional lives. We are all on the same mission: to create Literature of the West for the World.®

WWA Membership

2024 WWA Board

Executive Director: Max McCoy
President: Melody Groves
Vice President: Janie Little Botkin
Secretary-Treasurer: Max McCoy
Board Members: Rod Timanus, Deb Goodrich, W. Michael Farmer, Scott Thompson

2024 WWA Appointees

Elections: Ollie Reed Jr.
Conventions: Rocky Gibbons
Spur Awards Chair: R. G. Yoho
Membership Chair: Micki Fuhrman
Roundup Editor: Johnny D. Boggs
Subscriptions: Rocky Gibbons
Webmaster: Jake Stetler
Contact the WWA Office

WWA News